### **Beekmantown Central School District**

Special Board of Education Meeting

Place: MS/HS Library June 30, 2011

### Minutes

Call to Order

President Steve Trombley called the meeting to order at 9:01 pm and led the

pledge of allegiance.

**Members Present** Karen Armstrong Stan Kourofsky Carole Race Cathy Buckley Pauline Stone

☐ Leonard King Ed Marin 

Scott Amo, Superintendent of Schools

Matthew Slattery, BE Principal

Others Present Diane Fox, CH Principal

☐ LeeAnn Short, Director of Special Services

Roxann Barnes, School Lunch Manager

Mary LaValley Blaine, School Business Executive

✓ Joanne Menard, District Clerk

#### **Visitors**

Sam Thebert Patricia Chotowski Karin Ryan Ellen Hall Rolland Benware Toni Mieles Marie Gelwicks Heather Bergevin Carolyn Wilson Jolie Petrashune Sandra Rock Amy Holzer JoLee Yeddo Anne McGinnis Patty Gallagher Lucy Giroux Greg Myers Renee Hall

Jeremy Hoy Kathy Magiera Sae-lyn Garray Loucy Charlie Stone Chris Mieles Elizabeth Johnson

Constance Sullivan Joni Moschelle Tina King

Cyd Deming Danelle Pelkey

### **New Business**

#### **Personnel**

#### **Appointments**

**Visitors** 

### **Appointments**

It was moved by Karen Armstrong, seconded by Pauline Stone and unanimously carried, that the Board of Education approve the following appointments for the June 30, 2011 Special District Meeting (Revote) due to the Commissioner's Ruling:

Name	Appointment	Rate
Hicks, Jennifer	Permanent Chairperson	-0-
Inhelder, Eleanore	Chief Election Inspector	\$12.00/hr
Barnes, Roxann	Election Inspector	\$10.00/hr
Bell, Eric	Election Inspector	-0-
Bradish, Maureen	Election Inspector	\$10.00/hr
Bull, Sheila	Election Inspector	\$10.00/hr
Culley, Sylvia	Election Inspector	\$10.00/hr
Deming, Cynthia	Election Inspector	\$10.00/hr
Garrant, Jan	Election Inspector	\$10.00/hr
Garrant, Linda	Election Inspector	\$10.00/hr
Jennette, Barbara	Election Inspector	\$10.00/hr
King, Leonard	Election Inspector	-0-
King, Tina	Election Inspector	\$10.00/hr
LaVigne, Sue	Election Inspector	\$10.00/hr
LaValley Blaine, Mary	Election Inspector	-0-
Senecal, Paul	Election Inspector	\$10.00/hr
Stone, Barbara	Election Inspector	\$10.00/hr
Rvan, Harold	Election Custodian	-0-

# **New Business**

• Voting Results of 6/30/11 regarding Proposition I & Proposition II

The Board next discussed the next steps due to the defeat of Proposition I 2011-2012 Budget in the amount of \$38,721,107, The School Business Executive presented a Detailed Budget dated 4/26/11 with two additional columns. One column showed the Non-Contingency Line Items and the other column indicated the 2011-2012 extended Contingency Budget.

The contingency budget totals \$38,155,982 which is a reduction of \$565,125 from the budget the voters just defeated. Because June 30, 2011 is the end of the fiscal year, the Board needs to adopt a budget in order for business to resume for July 1, 2011.

Following discussion, the Superintendent stated reductions would be in personnel and NYSED mandated non-contingent items with a goal to balance the impact on the district.

It was moved by Richard LaVigne, seconded by Carole Race and roll-call voted, that the Board of Education adopt a contingency budget in the amount of \$38,155,982 for the 2011-2012 school year.

The roll-call vote was as follows:

X Karen Armstrong		Carole Race
☐ Cathy Buckley	Richard LaVigne	□ Pauline Stone
Leonard King	⊠ Ed Marin	

Clerk Pro-Tem

## **Clerk Pro-Tem**

It was moved by Richard LaVigne, seconded by Stan Kourofsky and unanimously carried, that the Board of Education appoint Steve Trombley as Clerk Pro-tem for this meeting.

Respectfully Submitted, Joanne Menard, District Clerk

**Executive Session** 

## **Executive Session**

(to discuss the employment history of a particular person(s)) It was moved by Ed Marin, seconded by Richard LaVigne and unanimously carried, that the Board enter executive session to discuss the employment history of a particular person(s). Time 9:10 pm.

It was moved by Richard LaVigne, seconded by Cathy Buckley and unanimously carried, that the Board return to regular session. Time 9:55 pm.

## **Adjournment**

Adjournment

It was moved by Richard LaVigne, seconded by Stan Kourofsky and unanimously carried, that the meeting be adjourned. Time 9:56 pm.

Respectfully Submitted, Steve Trombley, President Board of Education