#### **Beekmantown Central School District**

**Annual District Meeting** 

Place: Middle School Gym
May 18, 2010

### **Minutes**

Call to Order

Jennifer Hicks, Permanent Chairperson called the meeting to order at 10:52 am.

On April 6, 2010, the Board of Education approved the appointments of the following:

Permanent
Chairperson,
Election Inspectors,
& Election
Custodian

Qualifications to

Vote

Name	Appointment
Bailey, Kim	Election Inspector
Bull, Sheila	Election Inspector
Chauvin, Jan	Election Inspection
Culley, Sylvia	Election Inspector
Deming, Cynthia	Election Inspector
Dyer, Mary	Election Inspector
Gonyo, Bonnie	Election Inspector
Hicks, Jennifer	Permanent Chairperson
Inhelder, Eleanore	Chief Election Inspector
Senecal, Paul	Election Inspector
Yanulavich, Sally	Election Inspector
Parrott, Gary	Election Custodian

The Chairperson then proceeded to conduct the meeting.

The Chairperson read the qualifications of voters:

- (1) A citizen of the United States
- (2) Shall be eighteen (18) or more years of age
- (3) A resident within the district for a period of 30 days next preceding the meeting at which he wishes to vote.
- (4) The Board of Education has upon its own motion provided for the personal registration of voters in the district. No person will be entitled to vote whose name does not appear on a School District Registration Card or who has not registered with the Clinton County Board of Registration to vote at general elections.

The Chairperson read Propositions I, II, and III.

## Proposition I – Approval of the 2010-2011 Budget

Proposition I

Approval of the
2010-2011 Budget

To approve the proposed 2010-2011 school budget in the amount of \$37,458,259 and to authorize the requisite portion therefore to be raised by taxation on the taxable property of the District

5/18/10 Page 1 of 3

## <u>Proposition II – Bus Purchases</u>

Proposition II Bus Purchases To purchase (3) 65-passenger school buses and (1) 48-passenger school bus with wheelchair station to replace existing ten-year-old buses. The total cost not to exceed \$406,153, including trading in 4 buses, shall be raised by a tax on the taxable property of the School District to be collected in annual installments and to issue obligations in accordance with the Education Law and Local Finance Law.

As part of the district's ongoing replacement plan, this purchase enables the district to obtain a potential State reimbursement rate of approximately 80.3%.

# Proposition III- Board of Education Elections

Proposition III

Board of Education

Elections

To elect two (2) members to the Board of Education for 5-year terms (7/1/10 to 6/30/15) to fill the expired terms of Karen Armstrong and Frank Hay.

*Vote for any two (2) of the following candidates:* 

Karen Armstrong Cathy Buckley

The Chairperson asked for motion to submit Propositions I, II, and III for vote. A motion was made by Eleanore Inhelder, seconded by Kim Bailey and carried.

The Permanent Chairperson declared the polls open for voting at 11:00 a.m.

After determining that all eligible voters present had voted, the polls were declared closed at 8:00 pm by the Permanent Chairperson.

Immediately upon closing of the polls, the Election Inspectors proceeded with the canvass of the votes.

The results of the voting were then announced by the Permanent Chairperson as follows:

### Proposition I: Approval of the 2010-2011 Budget

Results Proposition I Approval of the 2010-2011 Budget

Yes	No	Blanks	Total
418	111	1	530

#### **Proposition II: Bus Purchases**

Results Proposition II Bus Purchases

Yes	No	Blanks	Total
404	117	9	530

5/18/10 Page 2 of 3

# **Proposition III: Board of Education Elections**

Results
Proposition III
Board of Education
Elections

Karen Armstrong 424 Cathy Buckley 404 Write In 3

Russell Lawliss Karen Waterbury David Kretser

Blanks 229 Total 1,060

Accept Voting Results

It was moved by Stan Kourofsky, seconded by Steve Trombley, and carried, to accept the voting results as read.

Adjournment

It was moved by Stan Kourofsky, seconded by Richard LaVigne and unanimously carried, that the meeting be declared adjourned. Time 8:25 p.m.

Joanne Menard District Clerk

5/18/10 Page 3 of 3